Motivation and Maslow’s Need Hierachy

What motivates people to work? Many scholars have tried to answer this, creating their own theory.


An interesting motivation theory is Abraham Maslow’s Need Hierarchy. It is a theory of motivation which priorities our needs in order of importance. By doing so, they become easier to manage and reduces stress.


Maslow suggests that by ordering our priorities needs, we can become more accomplished in ourselves.


Maslow’s five needs are:


  1. Psychological needs

The psychological needs are the basic needs that everybody should have. These include food and water, clothing, shelter, and so on. These ensure that we have a good quality of life. Our psychological needs are the most important to our wellbeing.


  1. Safety needs

Our safety needs come into place after our psychological needs are met. These needs are concerned with providing for ourselves financially. Once we are financially stable and able to support ourselves and earn money, our safety needs are met.


  1. Social needs

People thrive on social interactions to keep them going. We are interested in interacting with others regularly, companionship, belongingness, and so on. This step is necessary for psychological development, as social interaction is important for our health.


  1. Esteem needs

Esteem needs are about self-esteem and respect for yourself. They are about confidence, knowledge, independence and achievements. Once you are confident in your abilities and in yourself then you achieve your esteem needs. Without these, you may feel inferior and helpless.


  1. Self-actualisation needs

Once all of the other needs are met, the final need is self-actualisation. All of the previous needs amount to this, where the individual feels accomplished in their needs. It is to do with your motivation and applying this to your everyday life, reaching your full potential. Once the individual has completed the needs hierarchy, they are accomplished within themselves and their needs.